RSC Council

The Council of the RSC

The Council of the RSC is the primary policy-making body of the organization. The Members of the Council shall consist of: Officers of the RSC, Secretaries of the Academies, and of the College, two (2) other Officers of the Academy of Science, the Honorary Editor, the Foreign Secretary, the Expert Panels Secretary, the Chairs of Standing Committees, except for those chaired by the Past President, and three (3) representatives of the Institutional Members chosen by the Executive Committee. The Institutional Representatives shall serve for a term of three (3) years and shall rotate among the Institutional Members. The external members of the Executive Committee shall be non-voting members of the Council.

Members of the College shall not be eligible for appointment as Chairs of Standing Committees, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, Foreign Secretary, Expert Panels Secretary or Secretary of Communications. They shall be eligible for membership of committees, task forces and expert panels.

The Executive Committee of the Council of the RSC

There shall be an Executive Committee of the Council which shall consist of the Officers of the RSC, namely: the President, the Vice-Presidents, the President-Elect or the Past-President, the Honorary Secretary, the Honorary Treasurer; together with the representative of one (1) Institutional Member and two (2) external members from outside the RSC, selected by the President with the advice of Council.


Chad Gaffield (2017-2019)

Past President

Maryse Lassonde (2017-2018)

President, Academy of the Arts and Humanities

Jean Grondin (2017-2019)

President, Academy of Social Sciences

Alain G. Gagnon (2017-2019)

President, Academy of Science

Vijaya Raghavan (2017-2019)

President, College of New Scholars

Cynthia Milton (2016-2018)

Honorary Secretary

Sheila Embleton (2015-2018)

Honorary Treasurer

Jean-Marie Toulouse (2015-2018)

Secretary, Academy of the Arts and Humanities

Gonia Jarema (2015-2018)

Secretary, Academy of Social Sciences

Colleen Sheppard (2017-2019)

Secretary, Academy of Science

Gary Slater (2016-2018)

Secretary, College of New Scholars

Steven Cooke (2017-2019)

International Secretary

Marie D'Iorio (2017-2019)

Expert Panels Secretary


Secretary, Communications Committee


Chair, Governance and Ethics Committee

Yvan Guindon (2016-2018)

Chair, Awards and Recognition Committee

Jacques Lévesque (2016-2018)

Chair, Committee for Equity and Diversity


Chair, Committee on Intervention

Monica Heller (2017-2019)

Institutional Member Representative

David Barnard (2015-2017)

Institutional Member Representative


Institutional Member Represenative


Member-at-Large, Academy III


Member-at-Large, Academy III


External Member

Chris Loreto (2013-2018)

External Member